Resources

POLITICAL PRISONER SITES

Alvaro Hernandez: freealvaro.net
Bring Mumia Home: bringmumiahome.com
Cleveland 4: cleveland4solidarity.org
Cleveland 4 (facebook): www.facebook.com/freethe4
Eric King: supportericking.org
Herman Bell: freehermanbell.org
Jaan Laaman: freejaan.blogspot.com
Jalil Muntaqim: freejalil.com
Jeremy Hammond: freejeremy.net
Jeremy Hammond (facebook): facebook.com/FreeJeremy.net
Marius Mason: supportmariusmason.org
Marius Mason (facebook): facebook.com/supportmariusmason
Move 9: move9parole.blogspot.com
Mutulu Shakur: mutulushakur.com
Nato 3: freethenato3.wordpress.com
Nato 3 (Facebook): facebook.com/Free-the-NATO-3-172345546229824/
Nebraska 2: n2pp.info
Nicole Kissane: supportnicole.com
Leonard Peltier: whoisleonardpeltier.info
Oscar Lopez Rivera: boricuahumanrights.org
Russell Maroon Shoatz: russellmaroonshoats.wordpress.com
Sundiata Acoli: sundiataacoli.org
Veronza Bowers: veronza.org
Walter Bond: supportwalter.org

SOME WEBSITES WE LIKE:

4strugglemag: 4strugglemag.org
Addameer: addameer.org
Anarchist Black Cross Federation abcf.net
Building Bridges newsletter: prisonaction.blogspot.com
California Coalition for Women Prisoners: womenprisoners.org
Chain Reaction: What Happens When You Call the Cops?: alternativestopolicing.com
Colours of Resistance: coloursofresistance.org
Critical Resistance: criticalresistance.org
Decarcerate PA: decarceratepa.info
Denver Anarchist Black Cross: denverabc.wordpress.com
Earth First! Journal Newswire: newswire.earthfirstjournal.org
Everyday Abolition: everydayabolition.com
The Freedom Archives: freedomarchives.org
Green is the New Red: greenisthenewred.com
INCITE! Women of Color Against Violence: incite-national.org
It’s About Time: Black Panther Party Legacy & Alumni: itsabouttimebpp.com
Just Seeds: justseeds.org
Kersplebedeb: leftwingbooks.net
Malcolm X Grassroots Movement: mxgm.org
National Jericho Movement: thejerichomovement.com
New York Anarchist Black Cross: nycabc.wordpress.com
NYC Books through Bars: http://www.booksthroughbarsnyc.org
Open Door Books (Canadian books to prisoners program): opendoorbooks.wordpress.com
Prison Justice: prisonjustice.ca
Prison Policy Initiative: prisonpolicy.org
Prisoner Correspondence Project: prisonercorrespondenceproject.com
Prison Culture: usprisonculture.com
Project Salam: projectsalam.org
ProLibertad Freedom Campaign: prolibertad.org
Kevin Rashid Johnson rashidmod.com
Release Aging People in Prison: rappcampaign.org
Safe Outside the System - a project of the Audre Lorde Project: alp.org/community/sos
Seattle Books to Prisoners (mails all across U.S.): bookstoprisoners.net
South Brooklyn ABC: sbrooklynabcf.wordpress.com
The Sentencing Project: sentencingproject.org
StoryTelling & Organizing Project: stopviolenceeveryday.org
The Sylvia Rivera Law Project: srlp.org
TGI Justice Project: tgijp.org
Tracking the Politics of ‘Crime’ & Punishment in Canada: tpcp-canada.blogspot.com
Urbana Champaign Books to Prisoners (has extensive listing of U.S. books through bars projects): books2prisoners.org

SOME BOOKS WE LIKE:

  • Resistance Behind Bars: The Struggles of Incarcerated Women. Vikki Law. PM Press
  • Settlers: The Mythology of the White Proletariat. J. Sakai. Morningstar Press.
  • Prison Writings: My Life is a Sun Dance. Leonard Peltier. St. Martin’s Griffin
  • Imprisoned Intellectuals: America’s Political Prisoners Write on Life, Liberation and Rebellion. Ed. Joy James. Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
  • Forced Passages: Imprisoned Radical Intellectuals and the U.S. Prison Regime. Dylan Rodriguez. Univ. Minnesota Press
  • When the Prisoners Ran Walpole: A True Story in the Movement for Prison Abolition. Jamie Bissonette. South End Press
  • Global Lockdown: Race, Gender, & the Prison-Industrial Complex. Julia Sudbury. Routledge.
  • Wild Poppies: A Poetry Jam Across Prison Walls. (CD) Marilyn Buck. Freedom Archives.
  • A Soldier’s Story: Writings by a New Afrikan Anarchist. Kuwasi Balagoon. Solidarity.
  • Fascism, Blood in My Eye, and Soledad Brother. George Jackson.
  • All Things Censored, v. 1. Mumia Abu-Jamal. AK Press.
  • No Surrender: Writings From An Anti-Imperialist Political Prisoner. David Gilbert. Abraham Guillen Press/Arm the Spirit.
  • Arm the Spirit: A Woman’s Journey Underground and Back. Diana Block. AK Press.
  • A Little Matter of Genocide: Holocaust And Denial In The Americas 1492 To The Present. Ward Churchill. City Lights.
  • Igniting a Revolution: Voices in Defense of the Earth. Ed. Steven Best and Anthony J. Nocella, II. AK Press.
  • Hauling Up the Morning: Writings & Art by Political Prisoners & Prisoners of War in the U.S. Eds. Tim Blunk & Ray Luc Levasseur. Red Sea Press.
  • Let Freedom Ring: A Collection of Documents from the Movements to Free U.S. Political Prisoners. Resistance in Brooklyn. PM Press/Kersplebedeb.
  • Can’t Jail the Spirit: Political Prisoners in the U.S. Editorial El Coqui.
  • Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work for Racial Justice. Paul Kivel. New Society Publishers
  • Outlaws of America: The Weather Underground and the Politics of Solidarity. Dan Berger. AK Press.
  • Words without Walls: Writing & Art by Women in Prison in Nova Scotia. Books Beyond Bars, Halifax.
  • The War Before: The Writings and Speeches of Safiya Bukhari. ed. Laura Whitehorn. Feminist Press.
  • Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian History of the American West. Dee Brown. Picador.
  • State of Exile. Cristina Peri Rossi, translation and introduction by Marilyn Buck. City Lights Books.
  • Are Prisons Obsolete? Angela Davis. Open Media.
  • Assata: Assata Shakur. Lawrence Hill Books.
  • Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy. Heather Thompson. Pantheon, 2016.